Manage general settings
Administration of Campaign Monitor for Salesforce.
Email opt out/in settings.
Salesforce campaign settings.
Primary sync settings & storage management.
General maintenance messages.
Manage billing (card details, invoices etc).
General settings video overview
Sync Salesforce Lead/Contact 'Email Opt Out' field with Campaign Monitor
Automatically update the 'Email opt out' field to true when the email is unsubscribed from ALL Campaign Monitor lists and false when an email is active on at least one list. This field is updated when the primary sync next runs (typically hourly). Turn this off if you don’t want the standard 'Email opt out' field to be updated by Campaign Monitor to Salesforce. See: Troubleshooting
Prevent contacts or leads being added to lists when Salesforce email opt out is checked
If the Salesforce email opt out field is checked on a contact or lead, then they cannot be added to any subscriber list in Campaign Monitor. This setting is not retrospective - i.e. it will not automatically remove people from a subscriber list, it will come into effect when the 'Email opt out' field on a contact or lead is updated. When the 'Email opt out' is checked, the Salesforce user will see a message that says that the contact or lead cannot be added to a subscriber list.
Unsubscribe contacts or leads when Salesforce email opt out is checked
Automatically unsubscribe the contact or lead from all associated subscriber lists in Campaign Monitor when the email opt out field is ticked on the Salesforce contact/lead.
Show tabs on the Campaign Monitor layout in Salesforce
When enabled further menu options will appear under the Campaign Monitor tab in Salesforce. Disable to hide the menu from Salesforce users.
Re-subscribe deleted subscribers via import wizard
When using the import wizard you have the option to re-subscribe subscribers that were previously in a state of deleted. It will not re-enable unsubscribed subscribers.
Set Campaign Monitor subscriber status to deleted when a contact or lead is deleted in Salesforce
If a contact or lead is deleted in Salesforce, update the corresponding subscriber in Campaign Monitor (for all subscriber lists) with the status of deleted.
Trigger 'joins a list' journey's when adding subscribers
Enable this setting if you want to start journey's when importing records from Salesforce to Campaign Monitor. Use with caution as this may trigger emails to be sent to all recipients in a bulk import.
When importing records, they may start a journey if the subscribers enter a new segment (i.e. a custom value is updated as part of the import which results in the contact entering a new segment which in turn can start the journey - regardless of this setting).
Enable Salesforce Account trigger for Campaign Monitor actions.
Enable this setting if you have subscription rules or custom field mappings that reference Salesforce account fields. When an account record is updated, this will then trigger the subscriber rules.
Disable Salesforce account, contact and lead triggers.
This disables Campaign Monitor triggers in Salesforce. This prevents automatic subscription rules, custom fields mappings and email opt out functionality. Typically this should be set to 'inactive'.
Disable bulk triggers for account, contact and lead triggers.
This disables bulk Campaign Monitor triggers in Salesforce. When enabled, only the first modified record in a batch transaction will be processed (i.e. by automatic subscriptions).
Perform full daily sync.
This option will perform a full sync instead of an incremental sync.
Update Salesforce campaign statistics with Campaign Monitor statistics.
Update the linked Salesforce campaign with Campaign Monitor campaign statistics (i.e. the total number of clicks, opens, etc...)
Auto create Salesforce campaigns from Campaign Monitor campaigns.
Automatically create Salesforce campaigns for each Campaign Monitor campaign and link the two together. Salesforce campaigns will be created when the primary sync runs.
Creation of Salesforce campaigns is not retrospective - only Campaign Monitor campaigns created after the date that the setting was enabled will result in Salesforce campaigns being created
Never - don't update campaign member statuses.
Always - update the Salesforce campaign member status field each sync.
Once Only - only update on the Salesforce campaign member status field sync once. This can be helpful where you only wanted to capture the first interaction with the email (i.e. the fact they had opened it) but didn't want this overridden at a later date (i.e. by the recipient clicking links within the email). Or where you manually set the status after the first time the user has interacted with the email.
The Salesforce campaign member status field on the Salesforce membership record will only be updated if the activity date field on the record is either empty or is greater than the last activity date.
Auto create missing campaign statuses
Mapping activity statuses
This button is responsible for importing Campaign Monitor data into Salesforce. It will run in the background, a primary sync of all the records in Campaign Monitor that have changed since the last sync and will typically run for a few minutes but can take up to an hour.
Disconnect from Campaign Monitor.
This disconnects Salesforce from Campaign Monitor which will:
- Stop records syncing between Salesforce and Campaign Monitor.
- Stop any active or scheduled Campaign Monitor jobs in Salesforce.
- Reset Campaign Monitor user overrides and client ownership permissions in Salesforce.
- All Campaign Monitor data outside of Salesforce will remain unchanged.
If you want to change the Campaign Monitor connected user first click disconnect as described above. Once disconnected you can then click connect. You will be prompted with a connection screen to enter your new Campaign Monitor user details.
Import from Campaign Monitor into Salesforce
The import frequency button determines how often the primary sync will run. The options are:
- Never - i.e. the sync will not automatically run (this can cause the application to behave unexpectedly (i.e. Campaign Monitor permissions may not be correct in Salesforce or subscriber lists may be missing etc.)
- Hourly - This is the default and recommended sync schedule.
- Custom - Select which days and hour of the day to run the sync.
Salesforce sync user.
This is the Salesforce user that is responsible for running the primary sync (i.e. the background job that imports records from Campaign Monitor into Salesforce). The user is typically the person who set up the Campaign Monitor for Salesforce application. Pressing the set to current user button will result in the schedule being changed to the Salesforce user who presses this button.
Connected Campaign Monitor clients.
There are two types of Campaign Monitor account agency and direct. Most companies will be using a direct account. But you can be on or choose to switch to an agency account. An agency account allows you to have sub-accounts linked to a parent account. To learn more about these styles of account see: https://help.campaignmonitor.com/switch-between-agency-and-direct-versions
Campaign Monitor for Salesforce can only connect to one Campaign Monitor account. However, if you are using a Campaign Monitor agency account then you can connect that and the sub-clients contained within. You can select which clients you want to work with in Salesforce via our General Settings tab. When you connect more than one client a dropdown will appear on the Campaign Monitor tab so you can switch between clients.
You can limit which Campaign Monitor clients a Salesforce user can see, by creating a user in Campaign Monitor that can only see a particular client and then linking them to a Salesforce user, Click here to learn more.
Email tracking data
Import email tracking data.
When active, the email tracking stats will be imported into Salesforce from Campaign Monitor. This includes; opens, clicks, unsubscribes, bounces and sent. The information is stored in our email tracking statistics object, to learn more Click here.
What email types to import.
By default all email tracking types (sent, opened etc) will be imported. You can deselect types to prevent them from being imported into Salesforce.
Days to keep in Salesforce.
Set how many rolling days of tracking data to keep in Salesforce. Any tracking data older than the number of days specified by this setting will be removed from Salesforce, but the data will still be available in Campaign Monitor and can be re-imported into Salesforce at a later date if required.
Salesforce page layouts
Use the inline menu to view more details about the message.
Click on the code field to view more information about the message on our support site.
The delete messages button will clear out the message log.