There are several types of audience member status. Here’s an overview of the different contact types, and what type of marketing they can receive.
A subscribed contact, or subscriber, is someone who has opted in to receive your email marketing. Subscribers can join your audience from one of your signup forms, landing pages, or connected stores. You can also manually add them one-by-one or with an import, as long as you’ve received explicit permission. They’ll have a Subscribed badge in the Email Marketing column of the contact table.
Can receive: All types of marketing
UnsubscribedAn unsubscribed contact is someone who previously received your email marketing but has opted out. They’ll have an Unsubscribed badge in the Email Marketing column of the contact table.Can receive: Ads, postcards, and transactional emails like order notifications
Cannot receive: Marketing emails
Non-subscribedA non-subscribed contact is someone who has interacted with you but hasn’t opted in to receive email marketing. These contacts can be from your online store, an integration, a manual import, or from a forwarded email to your Mailchimp Inbox. They won’t have a badge in the Email Marketing column of the contact table.Can receive: Ads, postcards, and transactional emails like order notificationsCannot receive: Marketing emails
Hard bounces and repeated soft bounces become cleaned contacts. A cleaned contact has a non-deliverable email address, which might be misspelled or invalid. They’ll have a Cleaned badge in the Email Marketing column of the contact table.
Can receive: Nothing
A pending contact is someone who has completed a signup form but has not confirmed their opt-in. The contact's email address won't be added to your audience until they confirm their opt-in, and you won't be able to view them in your audience. After 60 days, if they have not confirmed their opt-in, the contact's email address and any other information they provided will be removed and deleted.Can receive: NothingArchivedArchived contacts are contacts who have been removed from your marketing audience. As long as a contact remains archived, you won’t be able to edit their profile or send them any marketing communications. However, you’ll retain all of their data, including identifiable information in email reports.
Can receive: Nothing
Deleted contacts are contacts you permanently remove. This removes all of their personal information from your audience. This action cannot be undone. In most cases, if you have outdated or inactive contacts that don’t interact with your marketing, you should choose to archive them. Delete contacts for General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) purposes only.Contacts can also be archived, which removes them from your marketing audience but retains their data.